Skip to Content


Maine’s Sustainability Division Overview

Maine Department of Environmental Protection
17 State House Station, 28 Tyson Drive
Augusta, ME 04333-0017
Phone: (207) 287-2870

NERC Board Member Representative
Megan Pryor, Environmental Specialist

Sustainability Division

Bureau of Land Resources

Maine Department of Environmental Protection

17 State House Station

Augusta, Maine  04333-0017

(207) 314-3357 (desk)


Program Contacts

General Information

Business Assistance Guide

Rule Chapters for the Department of Environmental Protection

Solid Waste Facilities

State Surplus Property Program

State Recycling Organization

Waste Characterization Study

Compost Information

Compost Information

Maine Compost School


The Maine Department of Environmental Protection (MEDEP) has established the Sustainability Division, which merges a number of cross-media programs including recycling, organics management, product stewardship programs and climate change program activities, across all areas of Maine’s waste management hierarchy. The goal of this innovative new division is to create and implement a comprehensive, coordinated approach to materials management in all sectors of the waste stream to the maximum extent possible. Greenhouse gas and climate adaptation role focuses on Maine’s strategy for addressing potential impacts from climate change.