Skip to Content


Back to 2019 News Archive

NERC in the News

State Electronics Challenge Adds Six More States

Recycling Today
Recycling Today

Storage and Destruction Business; December 9, 2010
Recycling Today; December 9, 2010
Electronics Recycling Newsletter; December 10, 2010

Through a grant from the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Great Lakes Restoration Initiative Grant, the State Electronics Challenge (SEC) has added six more states. A total of 22 states are now a part of the SEC. The states that have been added to the Challenge are Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio and Wisconsin.

Other states that are a part of the SEC are Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Dakota, Montana, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Utah, Vermont and Wyoming.

Through the SEC, which is administered by the Northeast Recycling Council Inc., partners commit to take steps to reduce the environmental footprint of their computer assets. In return, partners receive free one-on-one technical assistance, web-based resources, webinar opportunities and reporting and measurement tools to spur innovative pollution prevention approaches to managing their computer assets.

The SEC is modeled after the Federal Electronics Challenge (FEC), which was created by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency and the Office of the Federal Environmental Executive.

The SEC promotes environmentally preferable purchasing of computers using the EPEAT environmental performance standard, energy conservation through power management, paper use reduction, reuse and environmentally responsible recycling of computers at the end-of-life. The SEC is expected to expand next year to include imaging equipment and televisions.

In addition to support from the Great Lakes Initiative, the SEC is supported by a grant from EPA Region 8, and sponsorship from ISRI R2/RIOS, Panasonic and Sims Recycling Solutions

For more information, visit the SEC’s website at